surveillance overview

8-10-2013  what I continue to find most offensive about the Administration’s handling of the NSA surveillance programs, which is their repeated insinuation that anyone who raises concerns about national security programs doesn’t care about national security. As Tim explains this “attitude fosters the “us vs. them” antagonism so prevalent in these agencies dealings with the public. The NSA (along with the FBI, DEA and CIA) continually declares the law is on its side and portrays its opponents as ridiculous dreamers who believe safety doesn’t come with a price.” 

To understand why I find this remark so offensive, I should probably tell you a little about myself. While the most identifying aspect of my resume is probably the six years I spent as U.S. Senator Ron Wyden’s communications director and later deputy chief of staff, I started college at the U.S. Naval Academy and spent two years interning for the National Security Council. I had a Top Secret SCI clearance when I was 21 years old and had it not been for an unusual confluence of events nearly 15 years ago — including a chance conversation with a patron of the bar I tended in college — I might be working for the NSA today. I care very deeply about national security. Moreover — and this is what the Obama Administration and other proponents of these programs fail to understand — I was angry at the Administration for its handling of these programs long before I knew what the NSA was doing. That had a lot to do with the other thing you should probably know about me: during my tenure in Wyden’s office, I probably spent in upwards of 1,000 hours trying to help my boss raise concerns about programs that he couldn’t even tell me about. …

the President’s“claim that he had already started this process prior to the Ed Snowden leaks and that it’s likely we would [have] ended up in the same place” without Snowden’s disclosure.

“What makes us different from other countries is not simply our ability to secure our nation,” Obama said. “It’s the way we do it, with open debate and democratic process.”  

I hope you won’t mind if I take a moment to respond to that. 

Really, Mr. President? Do you really expect me to believe that you give a damn about open debate and the democratic process?    https://www.techdirt.com/articles/20130810/09240524136/jennifer-hoelzers-insiders-view-administrations-response-to-nsa-surveillance-leaks.shtml

………………………………………………………….

7-8-2008  

Bush: Telecom Immunity More Important Than Surveillance Powers  https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2008/07/bush-telecom-immunity-more-important-then-surveill

…………………………………….
7-9-08  The Senate gave President Bush what he wanted Wednesday, sending him a bill expanding his surveillance authority and granting legal amnesty to telecommunications companies that facilitated his warrantless surveillance program.  On a 69-28 vote, the Senate approved an administration-backed update to the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act    http://rawstory.com/news/2008/Wiretap_immunity_bill_gets_closer_to_0709.html
………………………………………………………………..
the astrologic chart for July 10, 12:40 p.m. EDT, 2008, Thursday (when Bush signed this into law):
Sun at 19 Cancer at one-eighth of circle to Saturn and Mars at 5 Virgo.  Sun trines Uranus at 22.5 Pisces; Sun squares Moon at 24.5 Libra; Sun opposite Jupiter at 17 Capricorn.
Pluto was at 29.33 Sag opposite Mercury at 0 Cancer.  Venus was at 27 Cancer, Neptune at 24 Aqu.; north lunar node at 19 Aqu. which is 150 degrees from Sun.
  Obviously alot going on.  Now we progress Moon at rate of 13.18 degrees/year, so the progressed moon from this legal amnesty of telecomms went conjunct/transit natal Pluto on ~June 1, 2013.
     On 6-1-13 Edward Snowden had been in Hong Kong for 10 days.  http://perceptualpost.com/edward-snowden-case-a-timeline/ 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

